The Amateur Jockeys Association are delighted to announce the 2007 Bathwick Tyres Ladies Derby Series. This year’s series is made up as follows:

SALISBURY Sunday 6th May

SALISBURY Thursday 24th May

NEWBURY Saturday 9th June

SALISBURY Saturday 14th July

NEWBURY Saturday 18th August

SALISBURY Saturday 31st August

NEWBURY Saturday 27th October

The Bathwick Tyres Ladies Derby, the richest amateur lady jockeys’ race in the racing calendar, takes place on Newbury’s Ladies Day on Saturday 18th August. The lady riders return there for the final ladies flat race of the season on 27th October, when the series winner will be awarded what has now become the traditional prize holiday generously donated by Wayne and Sarah Clifford of Bathwick Tyres.

Now in its 6th year, this series gives a wonderful opportunity for amateur lady jockeys to focus on a challenge which gives the winner an enviable reward. Jockey points are awarded after each race to the first 6 lady jockeys on a 7-5-4-3-2-1 basis. Last year’s winner, Faye Bramley, enjoyed a luxury weekend in Paris for the Arc de Triomphe and invited the series runner-up Michaela Sowerby to join her. The series always produces some interesting results, which last year included Annie Cooke (née Elsey) winning the Derby and promptly announce her retirement from the saddle.

Sarah Clifford said “We anticipate a great series this year, and are particularly looking forward to the Ladies Derby having its inaugural running at Newbury. To see the runners spread across the track as they turn into the straight is a really exciting prospect, and to hold this on Ladies Day at Newbury could not be more appropriate.”

Lisa Ward of Newbury Racecourse said “We are thrilled to offer the ladies the opportunity to ride at a Grade One track and grateful to Bathwick Tyres for their support. We wish all of the lady riders every success.”

Jeremy Martin, Clerk of the Course and General Manager at Salisbury, said “Salisbury are delighted to be staging four of the Bathwick Tyres Lady Rider races. Three of the races take place at popular evening race meetings, including Ladies Evening in July, and the other race at our opening Bank Holiday weekend fixture in early May, which is always our biggest attendance of the year. We thank the Clifford’s and Bathwick Tyres for their continued and increased involvement here, and again look forward to being part of this excellent Series.”

Sarah Oliver, Chief Executive of the AJA, said “It is excellent to be able to incorporate such a variety of races now that we have taken the series to two such inviting tracks. This really opens the series up to allow more opportunities for runners and riders. We are immensely grateful to Wayne and Sarah Clifford for their unstinting support and look forward to some great fun this summer.”

Past winners of the Ladies Derby are:

2002 Chrissie Hannaford

2003 Sara Cumani

2004 Chrissie Hannaford

2005 Francesca Cumani

2006 Annie Cooke

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.