We are delighted to announce Bollinger’s 16th year of loyal patronage of The Bollinger Champagne Challenge Series for Gentleman Amateur Riders. The champagne house generously supply the winning rider and runner-up in the series with Bollinger champagne as well as the winning owner, trainer and rider of each individual Bollinger race.

This year the series consists of 12 races culminating in the finale at the prestigious Ascot Autumn Festival on Friday 25th September. The Bollinger Champagne Challenge Series has undoubtedly contributed towards improving standards of race riding for gentlemen amateur jockeys, honing their skills to allow them to give a more polished performance in the saddle.  

The following dates have been agreed for this year’s series:

 Friday  22nd May Newmarket (Rowley Mile)

Saturday  30th May York

Thursday  11th June Newbury

Wednesday  24th June Salisbury

Thursday  25th June Warwick

Monday  29th June Musselburgh

Friday  24th July Newmarket (July Course)

Monday  3rd August Royal Windsor

Wednesday  5th August Pontefract

Friday  21st August Chester

Tuesday 8th September Goodwood

Friday  25th September Ascot

Points are awarded on a “Grand Prix” style basis with 10 points for the winner, 6 for second, 4 for third and 2 for fourth.  The winner of the championship is presented with a case of Bollinger champagne.  Past winners of the series are:


1994 Paddy Pritchard Gordon 2002 Tom Best

1995 Richard Johnson 2003 Simon Walker

1996 Michael Mannish 2004 Simon Walker

1997 Tim McCarthy 2005 Simon Walker

1998 Charles Hills 2006 Barry McHugh

1999 Les Jefford 2007 Charlie Huxley

2000 Ryan Moore 2008 Joshua Moore

2001 Tom Scudamore


The AJA are most grateful to Bollinger, and especially Simon Leschallas, for their unstinting support and highly value their generous sponsorship.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.