Month: January 2017



Please take the time to read this if you are considering turning professional in the future or if you are thinking of applying for a Category B course
Important update for
– all amateur jockeys wanting to apply for a Cat B licence and
– all amateur jockeys wishing to turn professional:
A major change has taken place regarding the length of the Category B licence course which up until now has been held as a combined 5-day residential course for both Conditional and Amateur Jockeys. (Amateur jockeys must have completed 15 jump rides under Rules or 20 rides in point-to-points or a combination of the two.)
From the date of the next Category B course to held the British Racing School from 20 to 24 February 2017, the course will remain as 5 days for amateur jockeys wishing to obtain their Category B.
However, for professional jockeys there will be an extension of a further 5 days which must be attended before their Conditional licence will be granted by the BHA.
Further dates for Cat B courses in 2017:
British Racing School, Newmarket:
15 to 19 May
Northern Racing College, Doncaster:
17 to 21 July
2 to 6 October
There are a limited number of places funded by the AJA but once these places have been taken, the cost of the course is £830.
The following 2nd week conditional course dates for 2017 are:
1-12 May therefore 2nd week for Cat B amateurs = 8-12 May
27 Nov – 8 Dec therefore 2nd week for Cat Bs = 4-8 December
To book your place on the above course, please call BHA Licensing on 0207 152 0148 without delay.
This is obviously going to require forward planning on your part. Please spread the word with your weighing room colleagues.

Cheltenham Champions Christmas Cracker



Over 130 guests gathered at Cheltenham Racecourse Gold Cup Suite on Saturday 17th December to celebrate amateur jockey champions from both the 2014/15 & 2015 seasons and the 2015/16 & 2016 seasons and also to support Ed Barrett who sustained life changing injuries following a fall in a point-to-point last season.

15589650_1172061989497086_6533126397483251348_n                     Ed Barrett with Champion Jockey David Noonan

RUK’s Stuart Machin acted as MC with AJA Director Anthea Morshead in attendance for prize presentations to those champions present (in red):

Untitled 2

Many congratulations to all our Champions!15578418_10154897061831318_2291361265519462573_nJoint Flat Lady Jockey Champions 2015 Serena Brotherton & Joanna Mason15622515_10154897062161318_1801501187857947008_n2016 Flat Lady Jockey Champion Serena Brotherton15589613_10154897060521318_5917574183924446234_nNH Gentleman Jockey Champion 2015/16 David Noonan15578738_10154897061491318_8196173206642804738_nAll-Weather Champion Runner-Up to Simon Walker 2015/16 Serena Brotherton15622126_10154897062506318_7918261646842185733_nAll-Weather Champion Runner-Up to Simon Walker 2014/15 Joanna Mason15542126_10154897061316318_7055979562425091337_nLady Flat Champion Runner-Up to Serena Brotherton 2016 Joanna Mason15590041_10154897061171318_4242401861200992460_nBetfair Novice Rider Series Winner 2016 Emily Easterby

15578927_1172061859497099_2980514972847081556_nIan Chanin, Ed Barrett, Micheál Nolan, David Noonan, Ciarán Gethings and Sean Houlihan

The evening was made for us all by Ed Barrett attending himself and it was good seeing him meet up with many old West Country weighing room friends.

11Freddy Tett won a raffle prize!10Henry Morshead and Jonjo O’Neill Jnr and friends16 Natalie Parker and friends 15 Josh Newman and Ian Chanin1Gemma Double and friend collect awards on behalf of champion Simon WalkerIMG_4036 2 Joanna Mason, Aly Deniel and Serena Brotherton9 2 Page Fuller5Hugh Nugent and Zac Baker

2016/17 All-Weather Championship finale at Lingfield on 22 February


The 2016/17 All Weather Amateur Jockeys Championship has its final race of the season on Wednesday 22nd February at Lingfield Park when the new Amateur All-Weather Champion will be crowned🏆.

Current pole positions are as follows:
Serena Brotherton 11 points
Poppy Bridgwater & Simon Walker 9 points
Jonjo O’Neill Jnr 6 points
Ross Birkett, Emily Easterby, Claire Hardwick, Ben James, Max Kendrick & David Turner 5 points

However, there is a long way to go with 9 races still to come in January and February including a new additional fixture which has been added to the calendar on 16th February at Chelmsford City by kind agreement between the racecourse and the BHA.

Other races feature at Kempton Park, Newcastle (another new fixture), Southwell, Lingfield Park and Wolverhampton. (The race at Lingfield on 9th February is currently for ladies only and has had the cap (previously published) now removed.)

Previous champions are:
2015/16 Simon Walker
2014/15 Simon Walker
2013/14 Simon Walker & Serena Brotherton
2012/13 Simon Walker
2011/12 Simon Walker
2010/11 Chris Martin
2009/10 Serena Brotherton
2008/09 Simon Walker
2007/08 Simon Walker
2006/07 Simon Pearce
2005/06 Simon Walker
2004/05 Scott Dobson
2003/04 Eamon Dehdashti

Good luck all!

Category B course next week in Doncaster has vacancies!



We are in danger of losing the January Cat B / Conditional course scheduled for next week (16th to 20th January) at The Northern Racing College due to lack of uptake!

Applicants will of course need to have attained the necessary criteria and accrued the correct number of completed rides (15 under Rules, majority over obstacles or 20 in both Point to Point Steeple chases and races under Rules over obstacles).

BHA Licensing are happy to help if you are unsure of your exact race record and/or need advice.

Please spread the word if you know of friends who are planning on taking out a Cat B licence! Many thanks! Please feel free to share.

Would you like to ride in a charity race?


Calling all wannabe jockeys!

Newbury Racecourse are hosting a charity race on Saturday 4th March in support of Greatwood and just one place remains!

If you are interested in riding in this race and also raising funds for Greatwood, please drop an e-mail to for race conditions and an application form.

More information on this great charity can be found here:




Further to the BHA notice of 29 January 2015, BSEN 1384:2012 and CSN EN 1384:2012 has been removed as an acceptable standard on and after 1st January 2017! Please check your skull cap NOW – checks will be made when you next weigh out on the racecourse!

Help checking your cap: helmet-skull-cap-flow-chart

More information here: helmet-information-sheet-jan-2017

The revised required standards are:

Design of skull cap

1. A skull cap is approved by the Authority if it meets PAS 015: 2011, SNELL E2001, VG1 01.040 2014-12, or UTAC/CRITT 04/2015.

2. The skull cap must not have a chin cup, cradle or draw lace.

3. The chin strap must pass under the jaw and be attached to the harness by a quick release buckle.

4. The skull cap must not have metal hooks.

Fitting of skull cap

5.1 The skull cap must be of the correct size for the Rider and must be correctly fitted and fastened.

5.2 The face harness must be correctly adjusted and the chin strap fastened at all times when the Rider is mounted on a horse.

Do not forget:  a helmet/skull cap which has been involved in an impact should be replaced in line with the manufacturer’s instructions. Jockeys who sustain a concussion under Rules which is diagnosed at the time by a Racecourse Medical Officer are eligible for an £80.00 voucher towards a replacement helmet/skull cap under the BHA/BETA Concussion Bounty Scheme.